Rhoda Lea

Thoughts on the Journey of Life

APRIL 28, 2010 – DAY 106

When someone is home alone all day, unable to get around, they start finding things to do and their minds tend to wander.  Today as I tried to busy myself and wandered around in my own mind I came to a realization.   I realized I’m weird.  I mentioned in an earlier post that Alaska is the one place in the United States you can see a bumper sticker for the NRA and one for GREENPEACE on the same vehicle.  Even though I understood that seeming incongruity at the time I had to laugh at it’s irony.  Perhaps that’s why I felt so at home with Alaskans.  In looking  back through  my FaceBook profile page I realized that on April 22nd I not only posted a “Happy Earth Day” status message with a link for an organic gardening web-site, but also “Liked” a page entitled “A right to bear arms.”

It seems strange that these two ideas can exist peacefully in a single mind.  At least many people might think so.  However, I can assure you they do.  Like many things in my life my beliefs walk a tightrope and my heart and mind are always adjusting their balance.  I am a pacifist who served in the military.  I am a republican who often votes democrat.  I am an environmentalist who supports industry.  I am a feminist who believes that I should honor and obey my husband.  I am someone who believes in free trade but supports unionization.  I am a Christian who recognizes the need for gay rights.  And the list goes on and on.

I acknowledge that I’m weird, and many of my closest and dearest find me confusing and difficult – including my family and my lovely husband.  I’m sorry for that but in a broken world finding balance is often a hard thing.  Sad to say, I often feel as if the folks most lacking in balance are those from my own faith group.  The most angry, snide, and sarcastic responses I get to some of my postings on FaceBook come from my evangelical friends.  This frustrates me and makes me angry.  But, more than that, it saddens me.

Jesus was a very tolerant person.  Even with the one group He could get a bit combative with, the Pharisees, it took a lot to get Him that way.  However, what I often see in the Church today is intolerance.  Like it or not, fellow believers, we live in a fallen world and even the United States reflects that fallen nature of things.  As a citizen of this great country and as a Christian I need to recognize that until Jesus rules this world “with an iron rod” it is  marred by our fallen nature.  Not one of us has a corner on righteousness.

In looking back at April 22nd I realize I spent a good deal of time discussing significance of Earth Day with one of my fellow believers.  He believes that the whole day is part of “the leftest agenda.”  It was an interesting conversation and he sent me some interesting links with articles about this issue.  I see his point but don’t understand why it’s worthy of so much debate.  When people are unemployed, losing their homes, and going hungry, why do we as Christians spend so much time alienating the lost with political minutia?  I am with Joyce Meyer when she says, “We need a love revolution.”

Yes, I know I’m weird.  I’m too evangelical for my Catholic friends.  I am too Christian for my pagan friends.  I am too liberal for my Christian friends.  I am too conservative for my liberal friends.  And, I am too ecumenical for my evangelical friends.  However, I love the fact that my home has been a refuge and place of hospitality to all of these friends.  I’m just weird enough to believe that it’s not my politics that define me but my faith; a faith provided to me by love.  I hope that love is the guiding principle in my life.  I hope that I am just weird enough to believe, and act as if, the Great Commission is of more importance than politics – or taking advantage of Earth Day to promote a friends web-site.   I think I am glad I am weird.  I am especially glad that I found my husband, another weirdo, who is the one person on earth who gets me!  Thank God for that!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

The Soul Tamagotchi

Let go of control

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

Fiery Ginger

Cooking Up Bold Flavors and Bold Techniques

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

Linked4Ministry Blog

Helping Christian ministries "expand their reach into God's Kingdom" using social media and LinkedIn tools.

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

Drschiffman's Blog

in case you need a second opinion

Linked 2 Leadership | The Leadership Collaboratory

Linked 2 Leadership Blog is designed to serve professionals interested in Leadership Development, Organizational Health, and Personal & Professional Growth. We provide a safe and fun place to Learn, Grow and Develop Other Leaders.™

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

SOulBLINDministry.com

The Bible you've been missing

Deep Imprints

Your Workplace is your Ministry

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Rhoda Lea

Thoughts on the Journey of Life

